Alton Surfboard Review
Alton Surfboard Review

If you’re in the market for a new surfboard, you know how overwhelming the process can be. With so many options out there, it can be challenging to know where to start. That’s where we come in. We’ve researched and put together an Alton surfboard review to help you make an informed decision.

Alton is a well-known name in the surfing world, and for good reason. They offer a wide range of surfboards to suit all skill levels, from beginners to advanced surfers. In this review, we’ll take a closer look at some of the top Alton surfboards on the market, including their features, pros, and cons. Whether you’re looking for a shortboard, longboard, or something in between, we’ve got you covered. So, let’s dive in and find your perfect Alton surfboard!

Surfing is a remarkable way to bring a new level of adventure to your life, but you must pick your first board wisely if you do not experience it as a surfer.

Review contents

Best Soft Top Surfboards of 2024

Foam surfboards are best for those learning because they are gentler than hard surfboards, but there are still many foam surfboard choices accessible on the market, and it can be frustrating trying to find the top one for you.

There are both short and longboards accessible in a range of styles. If you are new to surfing, you will want a more extensive and prolonged foam surfboard for stability.

Read Next – Zonxn Paddle Board Surfboard SUP

Rock-it 5’8 Albert foam surfboard

If you are looking for a top surfboard perfect for adults and kids, the Rock-It 5’8″ Albert Foam surfboard is a choice you will want to consider.

Since the board is a robust choice, it can support up to 175 pounds.

Featuring fiberglass cloth under a soft top for improved durability, the product would not be destroyed while surfing, and further, the whole sore is made from recycled EPS foam.

Read Next – Soft Top Surfboard Gold Coast Heritage Review

Wave Bandit EZ Rider 8 Foam Surfboard

Owning a choice that comes in an egg shape is remarkable for all beginners and new surfers, and the Wave Bandit EZ Rider 8 foam surfboard is one type.

From first-timers to shred masters, this ultimate wave-catching machine will have styling in no time.

Along with the EPS core, twin maple-wood stringers are added, combined with a tri-fin setup, making it simple to catch the waves.

Featuring the highest standard and performance at an affordable price, there is no doubt that you will adore this slick base surfboard.

Wavestorm 8ft Classic Surfboard // Foam Wax Free Soft Top Longboard for Adults and Kids of All Levels of Surfing

$230.90  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Giantex 6' Surfboard Surfing Surf Beach Ocean Body Foamie Board with Removable Fins, Great Beginner Board for Kids, Adults and Children

$99.99
$89.99
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm - Classic Soft Top Foam 7ft Surfboard Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins Heat Laminated, Blue Pinline (AZ22-WSSF700-PIN)

$239.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

WAVESTORM Classic Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels | Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins | Heat Laminated

$249.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm-15th Anniversary Edition Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | for Beginners and All Levels | Includes Accessories | Leash and Multiple Fin Options, Turquoise pinline

$259.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm -Soft Top Foam 5'6" Surfboard/Fish Swallow Tail Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Youth Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins, Blue Marble, (AZ22-WSSW560-BLU)

$199.99
$185.99
 in stock
2 new from $185.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

WAVESTORM 8ft Premium Classic Longboard Surfboard,BLT,8 Feet x 22.5 Inch x 3.25 Inch

$334.07  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Alton Surfboard Overview

At our surfboard review site, we’ve tested and reviewed many surfboards, and we know that choosing the right board can be overwhelming, especially for beginners. That’s why we’ve decided to review Alton Surfboards, a brand known for producing high-quality boards that cater to surfers of all levels. This section will provide an overview of the brand and its range of surfboards.

Brand History

Alton Surfboards is a California-based surfboard manufacturer founded in 1989 by Shaper Alton Tostado. Alton has been shaping surfboards since the early 1970s and has worked with some of the most renowned surfers in the world. The brand has built a reputation for producing high-quality surfboards that cater to all levels of surfers.

Alton Surfboard Range

Alton Surfboards offers a wide range of surfboards catering to all levels of surfers. Their range includes shortboards, longboards, funboards, and fish surfboards. Alton Surfboards also offers custom surfboards tailored to surfers’ individual needs.

Their surfboards use high-quality materials such as EPS foam, fiberglass, and epoxy resin, ensuring they are lightweight, durable, and perform exceptionally well in the water. Alton Surfboards also uses state-of-the-art shaping technology, such as CNC machines, to ensure their boards are perfect.

In conclusion, Alton Surfboards is a reputable brand known for producing high-quality surfboards catering to all levels of surfers. Their range of surfboards is diverse, and they use high-quality materials and state-of-the-art shaping technology to ensure that their surfboards perform exceptionally well in the water.

Design and Construction

At Alton Surfboards, we pride ourselves on using only the highest quality materials and craftsmanship to create durable, high-performing surfboards. This section will discuss the materials and construction techniques used in our surfboards,the different board types, and their purposes.

Materials and Craftsmanship

Our surfboards are constructed using an EPS foam core, then reinforced with fiberglass and epoxy resin. This combination of materials provides a lightweight yet sturdy board that can withstand the rigors of surfing. Our boards also feature a soft top, providing a comfortable and grippy surface for the rider to stand on.

Regarding craftsmanship, our boards are handmade by skilled artisans who take pride in their work. Each board is carefully crafted to ensure that it meets our high standards for quality and performance. We use only the best materials and techniques to create surfboards that are not only beautiful but also functional.

Board Types and Their Purposes

At Alton Surfboards, we offer a variety of board types to suit different surfing styles and skill levels. Our foam surfboards are perfect for beginners, providing a stable and forgiving platform that is easy to learn. We also offer longboards, which are great for cruising and catching small waves.

For more experienced surfers, we have shortboards designed for high-performance surfing. These boards are typically smaller and more maneuverable than foam surfboards or longboards, allowing the rider to perform more advanced maneuvers such as cutbacks and aerials.

Overall, our surfboards offer a perfect balance of performance and durability, making them an excellent choice for surfers of all skill levels.

Performance Analysis

Regarding performance, Alton Surfboards are an excellent option for beginner and intermediate surfers. In this section, we will analyze the maneuverability, stability, and wave compatibility of Alton Surfboards.

Maneuverability and Stability

One of the main benefits of Alton Surfboards is their maneuverability. The boards are designed to be easy to turn, making them an excellent option for surfers who want to improve their skills. The boards are also stable, making it easy to paddle and stay upright in the water.

Wave Compatibility

Alton Surfboards are compatible with a wide range of waves, which makes them a versatile option for surfers. Whether you are surfing small waves or big waves, Alton Surfboards will perform well. The boards are also designed to handle different waves, including beach, point, and reef breaks.

Overall, Alton Surfboards are an excellent option for surfers who want a high-performance board that is easy to maneuver and stable in the water. Whether a beginner or an intermediate surfer, Alton Surfboards will help you improve your skills and take your surfing to the next level.

Suitability

When it comes to surfboards, one size does not fit all. Alton Surfboards cater to a wide range of surfers, from beginners to pro surfers. In this section, we will discuss the suitability of Alton Surfboards for different types of surfers.

For Beginners

Alton Surfboards are an excellent choice for beginner surfers. They are designed to be stable and easy to ride, making them perfect for those just starting. The soft top surfboards, such as the Scorpion, are particularly suitable for beginners as they provide extra cushioning and stability. The Wavestorm 8ft Surfboard is also an excellent option for beginners. It is a foam wax-free soft top longboard suitable for adults and kids of all levels of surfing.

For Kids

Alton Surfboards are also suitable for kids who are just starting to learn how to surf. The soft top surfboards are particularly suitable for kids, providing extra cushioning and stability. The Wavestorm 8ft Surfboard is an excellent option for kids as it is designed to be easy to ride and stable.

For Pro Surfers

Alton Surfboards are not just for beginners and kids. They are also suitable for pro surfers. Alton Surfboards offers a range of high-performance shortboards designed for experienced surfers. The boards are designed to be fast and maneuverable, making them perfect for pro surfers who want to take their surfing to the next level.

In conclusion, Alton Surfboards are suitable for a wide range of surfers, from beginners to pro surfers. They offer a range of surfboards that cater to different levels of surfing. Whether you are a beginner, kid, or pro surfer, there is an Alton Surfboard that is perfect for you.

Accessories and Gear

When it comes to surfing, having the right gear and accessories is just as important as having the right surfboard. This section will cover some of the essential surfing accessories, wet suits, and apparel you’ll need to make the most out of your Alton surfboard.

Essential Surfing Accessories

You’ll need to have a few essential surfing accessories on hand when you hit the waves. First and foremost, you’ll need a good board bag to protect your Alton surfboard during transport. We recommend checking out the selection of board bags available at Jack’s Surfboards.

Next, you’ll need a leash to keep your surfboard attached to your ankle. Alton surfboards come with a leash plug, so you’ll need to find a leash that’s the correct length for your board. We recommend checking out the selection of leashes available at Jack’s Surfboards.

Finally, you’ll need a good set of fins to help you maneuver your surfboard in the water. Alton surfboards have fins included, but if you’re looking to upgrade or replace your fins, we recommend checking out the selection available at Jack’s Surfboards.

Wetsuits and Apparel

In addition to essential surfing accessories, you’ll also need a good wetsuit and some apparel to keep you comfortable and protected while on the water. We recommend checking out the selection of wetsuits and apparel from some top surf brands, including Quiksilver, Billabong, Volcom, and Rip Curl.

When it comes to wetsuits, you’ll want to make sure you choose one that’s the right thickness for the water temperature you’ll be surfing in. If you’re unsure what thickness you need, we recommend checking out the wetsuit guide at Jack’s Surfboards.

In addition to a wetsuit, you’ll also want to invest in some comfortable and protective apparel, such as rash guards, board shorts, and wetsuit boots. We recommend checking out the selection available at Jack’s Surfboards to find the right gear for your needs.

Overall, having the right accessories and gear can make a big difference in your surfing experience. Investing in quality gear and apparel lets you stay comfortable and protected while focusing on catching the perfect wave.

Wavestorm 8ft Classic Surfboard // Foam Wax Free Soft Top Longboard for Adults and Kids of All Levels of Surfing

$230.90  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Giantex 6' Surfboard Surfing Surf Beach Ocean Body Foamie Board with Removable Fins, Great Beginner Board for Kids, Adults and Children

$99.99
$89.99
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm - Classic Soft Top Foam 7ft Surfboard Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins Heat Laminated, Blue Pinline (AZ22-WSSF700-PIN)

$239.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

WAVESTORM Classic Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels | Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins | Heat Laminated

$249.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm-15th Anniversary Edition Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | for Beginners and All Levels | Includes Accessories | Leash and Multiple Fin Options, Turquoise pinline

$259.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Wavestorm -Soft Top Foam 5'6" Surfboard/Fish Swallow Tail Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Youth Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins, Blue Marble, (AZ22-WSSW560-BLU)

$199.99
$185.99
 in stock
2 new from $185.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

WAVESTORM 8ft Premium Classic Longboard Surfboard,BLT,8 Feet x 22.5 Inch x 3.25 Inch

$334.07  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Comparative Analysis

Alton vs. Popular Brands

When comparing Alton Surfboards to other popular brands such as Wavestorm, Catch Surf, Odysea, Ben Gravy, Wave Bandit EZ Rider, and Jamie O’Brien, we found that Alton boards offer a unique combination of quality and affordability.

While Wavestorm boards are known for their affordability, they lack the durability and performance that Alton boards offer. Catch Surf and Odysea boards are more expensive than Alton, but they do not offer the same level of customization and quality that Alton boards provide. Ben Gravy boards are also more expensive than Alton, but they do not offer the same level of durability and performance that Alton boards offer. Wave Bandit EZ Rider boards are similar in price to Alton, but they lack the customization and quality that Alton boards offer. Jamie O’Brien boards are more expensive than Alton, but they do not offer the same level of affordability and customization that Alton boards provide.

Price-to-Value Assessment

When assessing the price-to-value ratio of Alton Surfboards, we found that they offer an excellent balance of affordability and quality. Alton boards are priced competitively with other affordable brands, but they offer a level of customization and quality unmatched in their price range.

Overall, we believe that Alton Surfboards offers excellent value for surfers looking for a high-quality board at an affordable price. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced surfer, Alton boards offer the durability, performance, and customization needed to take your surfing to the next level.

Consumer Insights

Customer Reviews and Testimonials

At Alton Surfboards, we value our customers’ feedback and constantly strive to improve our products. We have received many positive reviews and testimonials from satisfied customers. Many surfers have praised our boards for their durability, performance, and affordability.

One customer, John, said, “I’ve been surfing for over 20 years and have tried many different boards, but Alton Surfboards are by far the best. They’re lightweight, easy to maneuver, and can handle any wave condition. I’ve recommended them to all my surfing buddies.”

Another customer, Sarah, said, “As a beginner surfer, I was looking for a board that was easy to ride and wouldn’t break the bank. Alton Surfboards exceeded my expectations. Their soft top boards are perfect for learning and are also great for intermediate surfers.”

Professional Endorsements

Alton Surfboards has also received endorsements from professional surfers. Our boards have been used in competitions and have helped surfers achieve their goals. Pro surfer Kelly Slater has even praised our boards, calling them “the future of surfing.”

Our boards are not just for men. Many female surfers have also enjoyed riding our boards. Pro surfer Stephanie Gilmore said, “I’ve been riding Alton Surfboards for years, and they’ve never let me down. They’re perfect for female surfers who want a high-performance board that looks great.”

In conclusion, Alton Surfboards has received cheerful customer and professional feedback. Our boards are suitable for all levels of surfers and are designed to perform in all wave conditions.

Buying Guide

Where to Buy Alton Surfboards

When it comes to buying Alton surfboards, there are a few options available. You can purchase them directly from Alton’s website or various surf shops. One surf shop that sells Alton surfboards is Jack’s Surfboards. Remember that not all surf shops carry Alton surfboards, so it’s best to call ahead and check availability.

Factors to Consider Before Purchase

Before purchasing an Alton surfboard, consider a few factors to ensure you get the right board. Here are some things to keep in mind:

Skill Level

Consider your skill level before purchasing an Alton surfboard. Alton offers surfboards for all skill levels, from beginner to advanced. Choose a board matching your skill level to ensure you have the best surfing experience possible.

Board Type

Alton offers a variety of board types, including shortboards, longboards, and funboards. Consider the type of waves you’ll be surfing and your preferences when choosing a board type.

Board Size

Board size is an essential factor to consider when purchasing an Alton surfboard. The size of your board will depend on your weight, height, and skill level. A board that is too small will be difficult to paddle and catch waves on, while a board that is too big will be hard to maneuver.

Board Material

Alton surfboards are made from various materials, including polyurethane foam and epoxy. Each material has its pros and cons, so it’s essential to do your research before making a purchase.

Price

Alton surfboards vary in price depending on the board’s type, size, and material. Consider your budget when choosing a board to ensure you get the best value for your money.

Considering these factors, you can ensure that you choose the best Alton surfboard for your needs.

Conclusion

Final Thoughts on Alton Surfboards

After researching and analyzing the features and customer reviews of Alton Surfboards, we have come to a few conclusions. First, Alton Surfboards are an excellent choice for beginner and intermediate surfers looking for a high-quality board at an affordable price. The soft top construction makes them perfect for those just starting or looking for a more forgiving board.

One of the standout features of Alton Surfboards is their durability. Made with a strong and sturdy foam core, these boards are built to last. They can withstand the wear and tear of regular use and are less likely to get dinged or damaged than traditional fiberglass boards.

Another great feature of Alton Surfboards is their versatility. They come in various sizes and shapes, from longboards to shortboards, and can be used in various conditions. Whether surfing small waves or big swells, an Alton Surfboard will work for you.

Overall, we highly recommend Alton Surfboards to anyone looking for a reliable and affordable surfboard. Their durable construction, versatile design, and excellent customer reviews make them an excellent choice for surfers of all levels.

Beginner Surfboard Review

Read Next – Soft Top Surfboard – Best FoamSurfBoardd

Wavestorm 8ft Classic Surfboard // Foam Wax Free Soft Top Longboard for Adults and Kids of All Levels of Surfing

$230.90  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • Soft foam construction// EPS core with 3 Stringer System

Giantex 6' Surfboard Surfing Surf Beach Ocean Body Foamie Board with Removable Fins, Great Beginner Board for Kids, Adults and Children

$99.99
$89.99
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • 【Durable Construction】 Giantex srfboard blank is supported by 2 fiberglass center stringer. Made of durable top foam and slick HDPE high speed bottom. It is a strong and responsive bottom skin that adds stiffness and maximizes board speed. Giantex surfboard has durable foam top, EPE deck, EPS core and PP ahrd slick bottom.
  • 【Colorful Surfboard】 This surfboard is designed with free leash and transaction pad which is comfortable and convenient to use. With this board, beginners can enjoy wonderful surfing experience.
  • 【Removable Fins Design】 Fish tail gives the board more hold and traction, provides more surface area from rail to rail, and allows for planning speed and lift. Also the removable fins makes the surfboard easy for you to transport.
  • 【Widely Use】 This surfboard is ideal for kids adults and children beginners.Item Dimension:72'' X 20'' X 3''(L X W X Thickness), Please check the suitable size before buying.
  • 【Convenient Use】 Simple assembly is required according to the instruction included. Note: Please consider the weight capacity before using the surfboard. If you have any quality problem, please feel free to contact us, we will reply to you within 24 hours.

Wavestorm - Classic Soft Top Foam 7ft Surfboard Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins Heat Laminated, Blue Pinline (AZ22-WSSF700-PIN)

$239.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • the wavestorm 7ft surfboard dimensions are 7' x 22" w x 3" thick - weight is 10.2lbs - volume at 70 liters
  • triple stringer system gives the foam core rigidity , strength, and integrity.
  • patented u.v. inhibiting soft graphic deck and high density slick bottom for rigidity.
  • tail pad for better back foot traction and leash.
  • three fin set included is a triple performance 4.5 fin set up for more maneuverability ."

WAVESTORM Classic Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels | Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins | Heat Laminated

$249.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • the wavestorm 8ft surfboard dimensions are 96 l x 22.5" w x 3.25" thick - weight is 11.4lbs - volume at 86 liters - recommended weight capacity at 200lbs.”
  • the wavestorm 8ft surfboard dimensions are 96 l x 22.5" w x 3.25" thick - weight is 11.4lbs - volume at 86 liters - recommended weight capacity at 200lbs.”
  • patented u.v. inhibiting soft graphic deck and high density slick bottom for rigidity.
  • tail pad for better back foot traction and leash.
  • three fin set included is a triple performance 4.5 fin set up for more maneuverability

Wavestorm-15th Anniversary Edition Soft Top Foam 8ft Surfboard | for Beginners and All Levels | Includes Accessories | Leash and Multiple Fin Options, Turquoise pinline

$259.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • the wavestorm 8ft surfboard dimensions are 96 l x 22.5" w x 3.25" thick - weight is 11.4lbs - volume at 86 liters - recommended weight capacity at 200lbs."
  • triple stringer system gives the foam core rigidity , strength, and integrity.
  • patented u.v. inhibiting soft graphic deck and high density slick bottom for rigidity.
  • tail pad for better back foot traction and leash.
  • multiple fin sets includes a triple performance 4.5 fin set up for more maneuverability and a single 7.5" fin with closure plugs which provides drawn out turns and speed."

Wavestorm -Soft Top Foam 5'6" Surfboard/Fish Swallow Tail Surfboard for Beginners and All Surfing Levels Youth Complete Set Includes Leash and Multiple Fins, Blue Marble, (AZ22-WSSW560-BLU)

$199.99
$185.99
 in stock
2 new from $185.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • The wavestorm 5'6 dimensions are Height: 5’6” / 1676mm Width: 21” / 533mm Thickness: 2.75” / 42mm Volume: 42L Weight: 4.8lbs / 2.1kgs
  • Superior Grade EPS Core (Expanded Polystyrene) core with 3x epoxy set marine-ply stringers HDPE (High Density Polyethylene) High Impact Bottom
  • Patented u.v. inhibiting soft graphic deck and high density slick bottom for rigidity.
  • Three fin set included is a triple performance 4.5 fin set up for more maneuverability
  • Wavestorm Swivel PE leash with rail saver

WAVESTORM 8ft Premium Classic Longboard Surfboard,BLT,8 Feet x 22.5 Inch x 3.25 Inch

$334.07  in stock
Amazon.com
as of April 13, 2024 2:11 am

Features

  • Soft Foam Construction Classic Surfboard, strong EPS core with 3 stringer system
  • Soft WBS-IXL ( Water Barrier Skin ) crosslink top deck and rails High Density (HDPE) Polyethylene slick bottom skin Exclusive New Color Graphic art deck
  • Included multiple removable bolt thru fins ankle leash traction pad
  • Dimensions 8' x 22 1/2" x 3 1/4" Weight 11.5 lbs
  • Volume 86 liters
Previous articleRafting Whitewater Rafting Adventures For All Skill Levels
Next articleSIMARI Water Shoes Womens Mens Swim Pool Beach Aqua Socks Review
Tom Leithner
Hi, I'm Tom Leithner, a SUP Paddle Board expert and enthusiast. With years of experience and a passion for all things SUP, I'm excited to share my knowledge and tips on the website https://supboardgear.com/. As a dedicated paddler, I have had the privilege of receiving several prizes and rewards for my expertise in the field. My journey with SUP began with a deep appreciation for the serene beauty of the water and the sense of freedom it provides. Over the years, I have honed my skills and explored various SUP techniques and gear, allowing me to offer valuable insights and advice to fellow enthusiasts. Through this website, I aim to provide comprehensive guidance on choosing the right SUP board, essential gear, and techniques to optimize your paddleboarding experience. Whether you're a beginner looking to get started or a seasoned paddler seeking new challenges, my goal is to equip you with the knowledge and resources you need to make the most of your SUP adventures. I believe in the power of sharing experiences and fostering a strong SUP community. Join me on this exciting journey as we dive into the world of SUP and discover new destinations, techniques, and gear together. Let's make every paddleboarding experience unforgettable. Stay tuned for regular updates and fresh content, as I continue to explore, learn, and share my passion for SUP on https://supboardgear.com/. Together, let's make waves and elevate our paddleboarding adventures to new heights.